College Football Playoff 101: How it works, who makes the decisions and more

They each have a computer to vote on, and they debate and rank the teams in groups of six or eight. You can find the full recusal list here.


The selection committee meets at the Gaylord Texan Resort in Grapevine, Texas, every Monday and Tuesday, starting Oct. 4, 12 p.m. No. 4. 31 this year. If a conference champion qualifies for the playoff, the bowl losing that team chooses a replacement from that conference. 2, 5 p.m., ESPN

o Allstate Sugar Bowl, Jan. 2, 8 p.m. They each come prepared with their own preliminary top 30 but only rank 25.

The selection committee consists of 12 people: Texas Tech athletic director Kirby Hocutt (chair); Wisconsin AD Barry Alvarez; former Southern Miss coach Jeff Bower; former Central Michigan coach Herb Deromedi; former NCAA executive Tom Jernstedt; former Vanderbilt coach Bobby Johnson; Arkansas AD Jeff Long; Oregon AD Rob Mullens; Clemson AD Dan Radakovich; Condoleezza Rice; retired sports reporter Steve Wieberg; and former coach Tyrone Willingham. Exhale. Two committee members are assigned as monitors for each conference. 


Playoff semifinals: Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic & Capital One Orange Bowl

College Football Playoff National Championship: Santa Clara, Calif.


Playoff semifinals: Allstate Sugar Bowl & Rose Bowl Game Presented by Northwestern Mutual

College Football Playoff National Championship: Atlanta, Ga.

They are guided by these criteria (not weighted) when choosing their top four teams:

oChampionships won

oStrength of schedule

oHead-to-head competition

oComparative outcomes of common opponents (without incenting margin of victory)


Each week, starting on Nov. 30, 8 p.m., ET, ESPN

o Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic, Jan. 22, 7 p.m. Repeat.

As semesters begin across the country, here’s your CFP 101 for 2016:


The semifinals: Chick-fil-A  Peach Bowl and Fiesta Bowl, both Dec. 1 vs. 29, 7 p.m. 9 on ESPN in Tampa, Florida (it’s always on a Monday).



Capital One Orange Bowl: Clemson 37, Oklahoma 17

Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic: Alabama 38, Michigan State 0

Inhale. and 7 p.m ET on ESPN.

Their duties include:

o Six weekly top-25 rankings, beginning Nov.

o Selecting the highest-ranked champion from the Group of 5 (MAC, Mountain West, American, Sun Belt, Conference USA) for a New Year’s Six bowl.

There are coaches everywhere who study the sport for a living and can’t answer those questions. 3. ET, ESPN

o Sunday, Dec. ET, ESPN

o Tuesday, Nov. The CFP is entering its third season, yet there’s still plenty of confusion over how it all works.

The College Football Playoff semifinals this year are in which bowls? The committee releases its rankings when? Who’s on the committee?


Playoff semifinals:  Chick-Fil-A Peach Bowl & Fiesta Bowl

College Footblal Playoff National Championship: New Orleans, La.

o Tuesday, Nov. No. 4. 4, and No.

College Football Playoff National Championship: Jan.

The highest-ranked team from the Group of 5 conferences is guaranteed a spot in a New Year’s Six bowl.. 1, the committee will unveil its top-25 rankings on ESPN’s College Football Playoff: Top 25. The other New Year’s Six game is the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic.

Nine of the 12 committee members are affected by the CFP’s recusal policy, which prohibits a committee member from voting for a team they or an immediate family member receive compensation from or have a professional relationship with. ET, ESPN


The committee doesn’t try to avoid regular-season rematches in the semifinals: It’s No. They will, however, try to avoid rematches in the other New Year’s Six bowls.

College Football Playoff National Championship: Alabama 45, Clemson 40


New Year’s Six schedule:

o Capital One Orange Bowl, Dec. 31.

o Selecting the top four teams for the playoff, ranking and assigning them to semifinal sites. Kickoffs will be at 3 p.m. ET, ESPN

o Tuesday, Nov. ET, ESPN

o Rose Bowl Game presented by Northwestern Mutual, Jan. Former Michigan coach Lloyd Carr had to step down due to health reasons.

You can find more detailed bios of the committee here. When those bowls host the semifinals and their contracted conference champs do not qualify, the displaced champion(s) will play in a different New Year’s bowl. ET, ESPN


Rose Bowl Game presented by Northwestern Mutual: Oregon 59, Florida State 20

Allstate Sugar Bowl: Ohio State 42, Alabama 35

College Football Playoff National Championship: Ohio State 42, Oregon  20

Both teams for the Capital One Orange Bowl, Rose Bowl Game Presented by Northwestern Mutual and Allstate Sugar Bowl are contracted outside the playoff arrangement (Big Ten and Pac-12 to the Rose Bowl; SEC and Big 12 to the Sugar Bowl; and ACC to the Orange Bowl against the highest-ranked team available from the SEC, Big Ten and Notre Dame). 2, 1 p.m. And oh yeah, the second ranking just happens to fall on election night. 1, 7 p.m. 2 vs. 1 and ending on Dec. 8, 7 p.m. 15, 9 p.m. ET, ESPN

o Tuesday, Nov. ET, ESPN

o Tuesday, Nov. There will be weekly updates, culminating with the final rankings on Dec

Latest posts by admin (see all)

Leave a Reply